| |
The Seventeenth Incarnation of the Glorious Gyalwang Karmapa
Page 1
Karmapa Dusum Khyenpa

Inseparable from Avalokiteshvara, the first Karmapa Dusum Khyenpa was born in 1110. He will be the future Buddha, who is the sixth one of this fortunate eon and known as the Lion. Dusum Khyenpa became the chief disciple of the peerless Gampopa and attainted realization of ultimate unity. In establishing the Kamkhyim Temple in Litang, he began the lineage of the Kamtsang Kagyu. His main disciple was Situ Drogon Repa Chenpo, to whom he transmitted the profound inner teachings in their entirety. Since that time, the Golden Garland of the Kagyu, known as the practice lineage, has been passed down in an unbroken transmission to this day.
The buddhas and bodhisattvas of the ten directions empowered Dusum Khyenpa as the glorious Karmapa, and his incarnations have continued down to the present through the special method of the previous incarnation foretelling the birth of the subsequent one. In Central Tibet, Dusum Khyenpa established Tolung Tsurphu Monastery, known as Akanishta, and from this great seat, his incarnations have extended their Dharma activity throughout the upper, middle, and lower parts of Tibet as well as to China and India.



The Incarnations of the Gyalwang Karmapa
1. Karmapa Dusum Khyenpa 1110-1193
2. Karma Pakshi 1206-1283
3. Karmapa Rangjung Dorje 1284-1339
4. Karmapa Rolpe Dorje 1340-1383
5. Karmapa Dezhin Shekpa 1384-1415
6. Karmapa Thongwa Donden 1416-1453
7. Karmapa Chodrak Gyatso 1454-1506
8. Karmapa Mikyo Dorje 1507-1554
9. Karmapa Wangchuk Dorje 1556-1603
10. Karmapa Choying Dorje 1604-1674
11. Karmapa Yeshe Dorje 1676-1702
12. Karma Changchup Dorje 1703-1732
13. Karmapa Dudul Dorje 1733-1797
14. Karmapa Thekchok Dorje 1798-1868
15. Karmapa Khakhyab Dorje 1871-1922
16. Karmapa Rigpe Dorje 1924-1981
17. Karmapa Ogyen Trinley Dorje 1985


Page 1
© Karma Lekshey Ling, Post Box 8435, Sita Paila-9, Swayambhu, Kathmandu, Nepal. www.leksheyling.net